National Champions

Dating back to 1989, 21 University of Chicago athletes have claimed NCAA Division III championships in individual competition or have been selected as the national player of the year in their respective sports.

The 2009-10 campaign proved to be a remarkable year at UChicago as three Maroons won national titles: Liz Lawton in women's outdoor track & field (5,000- and 10,000-meter runs) and Kendra Higgins and Chrissy Hu in women's tennis (doubles). Higgins's and Hu's crown marked their second in as many years.

UChicago boasts two other multiple national champions in wrestler Peter Wang - the 1991 and 1992 title holder at 177 pounds - and Rhaina Echols, who took top honors in women's cross country before winning national titles in the indoor 5,000-meter run and the outdoor 3,000- and 5,000-meter runs.

Two Maroons turned in national championship performances at the 2004 men's outdoor track & field championship as Tom Haxton led the field in the 10,000-meter run and Adeoye Mabogunje won the triple jump.

Kris Alden became the first UChicago athlete to win an NCAA individual title when he captured the 100-yard breaststroke title at the 1989 men's swimming championship.

Women's soccer player Renee Neuner and men's basketball player Derek Reich both earned national player of the year accolades in 2003, while Taylor Simpson was named national player of the year in 2012.


UChicago NCAA Division III Champions/Players of the Year
 2019  Isabel Maletich
 Byrne Litschgi
 Women's Indoor Track & Field (Long Jump)
 Men's Swimming & Diving (200-yard backstroke)
 2017  Khia Kurtenbach  Women's Cross Country
 2016  Michelle Dobbs  Women's Indoor Track & Field (800 meters)
 2015  Mantim Lee, Thomas Meek,
 Jeremy Estes, Matthew Veldman 
 Men's Swimming & Diving (400-yard freestyle relay)
 2014  Michael Bennett
 Abby Erdmann 
 Men's Indoor Track & Field (Pole Vault)
 Women's Swimming & Diving (200-yard butterfly) 
 2012  Taylor Simpson  Women's Basketball (Player of the Year)
 Liz Lawton
 Kendra Higgins & Chrissy Hu
 Women's Outdoor Track & Field (5,000 and 10,000 meters)
 Women's Tennis (Doubles)
 2009  Kendra Higgins & Chrissy Hu  Women's Tennis (Doubles)
 Tom Haxton
 Adeoye Mabogunje
 Men's Outdoor Track & Field (10,000 meters)
 Men's Outdoor Track & Field (Triple Jump)
 Renee Neuner
 Derek Reich
 Women's Soccer (Player of the Year)
 Men's Basketball (Player of the Year)
 Rhaina Echols
 Women's Indoor Track & Field (5,000 meters)
 Women's Outdoor Track & Field (3,000 and 5,000 meters)
 1999  Rhaina Echols  Women's Cross Country
 1992  Peter Wang  Wrestling (177 pounds)
 1991  Peter Wang  Wrestling (177 pounds)
 1989  Kris Alden  Men's Swimming & Diving (100-yard breaststroke)