Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

Rhodes Scholars

From the University of Chicago's formative years as a member of the Big Ten Conference to its current status as a charter member of the University Athletic Association, UChicago Athletics has counted numerous distinguished scholar-athletes among its ranks. Among those UChicago scholar-athletes are 11 Rhodes Scholars -- including four since 1996.

Most recently, Nick Juravich was selected in 2006. Captain of the cross country and track & field teams, Juravich served as president of the Undergraduate Order of the C.

2001 recipient Brad Henderson was a two-time All-UAA men's basketball player who helped lead the Maroons to back-to-back NCAA Division III tournament appearances, capped by a spot in the national quarterfinals in 2001.

The most recent female athlete to win a Rhodes Scholarship, Erin Bohula (1999) was a starting shortstop for Chicago softball teams that won 34 of 53 games her final two years.

In 1904, track & field athlete Robert Henry was included among the first Americans to receive Rhodes Scholars.

UChicago also boasts 1910 recipient Edwin Hubble, a basketball player who later became a distinguished scientist for whom the Hubble Space telescope is named.

 2006  Nick Juravich  Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
 2001  Brad Henderson  Men's Basketball
 1999  Erin Bohula  Softball
 1996  Ben Sharp  Wrestling
 1984  Sean Mahoney  Men's Basketball
 1983  Patricia Connelly  Women's Basketball
 John McDonough
 William Nash
 Men's Basketball/Football
 Men's Fencing
 1913  Robert Merrill  Men's Fencing
 1910  Edwin Hubble  Men's Basketball/Track & Field
 1904  Robert Henry  Men's Track & Field