Ten Former Maroon Runners Honored on UAA 30th Anniversary Teams

Tom Haxton, left, and Raina Echols
Tom Haxton, left, and Raina Echols

Full UAA 30th Anniversary Men's Cross Country Team

Full UAA 30th Anniversary Women's Cross Country Team

CHICAGO – Former University of Chicago runners Raina Echols and Tom Haxton headline the University Athletic Association's 30th Anniversary cross country teams, released by the league Thursday.

Echols, one of nine runners on the 30th Anniversary Women's Cross Country team to win multiple individual championships (1998 & 1999), and one of seven UChicago alumns to be selected to the 48-member squad.

Joining her were former Maroons Margaret Bradley, Brianna Hickey, Liz Lawton, Wendy Sullivan, Sarah Wiehe and Jessica Winter.

Echols finished her career as a four-time, all-UAA first-team selection and is the lone Maroon to ever win a NCAA Division III cross country championship, a feat she accomplished in 1999.

Wiehe (1990-93) added three first-team and one second-team honors and Bradley (1997-2001) earned two first-team and one second-team selections. Also earning first-team selections were Hickey (2015), Lawton (2010), Sullivan (two, 2000-01), and Winter (2003 and 2005).

In 30 years, the UChicago women have posted three Top-10 finishes, including a program-best fourth-place finish in 2013.

On the men's side, Haxton joined Maroon alums Patrick Sullivan and Billy Whitmore on the 46-member 30th Anniversary team. Haxton, a two-time All-American, was one of four repeat UAA individual champions on the team, as he captured the UAA title in both 2002 and 2003. He and Sullivan (2001-03) both ran to first-team honors in three consecutive seasons.

Whitmore was a two-time first-team selection (2011-12) and one-time second-team selection (2010).