Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

Maroon Baseball, Softball Have Eight Former Standouts Selected to UAA 30th Anniversary Squads

Beth Marquardt and Jack Cinoman
Beth Marquardt and Jack Cinoman

UAA 30th Anniversary Baseball Team 

UAA 30th Anniversary Softball Team 

CHICAGO – The University of Chicago baseball and softball programs each had four former players named to their respective University Athletic Association 30th Anniversary teams, as released by the league Tuesday.

For the UChicago baseball squad, former standouts Jack Cinoman, Curt Goldstein, J.R. Lopez and Stephen Williams were honored as part of the 50-member squad.

Cinoman (2010-13) was the Maroons' lone four-time all-UAA selection on the list, earning first-team honors three times and second-team honors once. Cinoman was three-time American Baseball Coaches Association all-region pick and two-time All-Region selection.

He still holds the career records for batting average (.420), runs (144), hits (218) and triples (19).

Goldstein was a two-time all-UAA selection, including the Co-Most Valuable Player in 1989. Lopez and Williams played on the same team as Cinoman, with Lopez earning all-UAA honors three times, including once a first-team pick. Williams was also a three-time all-UAA honoree, earning first-team twice.

Both Lopez and Williams were also awarded all-region honors twice each.

For the UChicago softball squad, Danielle Hari, Beth Marquardt, Michelle Rizzo, and Jennifer Wu were named to the 54-member 30th Anniversary Softball Team.

Marquardt was a two-time all-UAA first-team selection, including the league's MVP in 1997. A three-time all-region honoree, she stands fourth in the Maroons record book for wins (4) and third in strikeouts (535).

Hari, Rizzo, and Wu all played with Marquardt, with Hari earning all-UAA honors in 1996 and 1997, Rizzo in 1996 – including the league's MVP award – and Wu in 1995, 1996 and 1997. Hari was also an all-region selection in 1998.

The UAA 30th Anniversary teams consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player/Player of the Year or accumulated five or more points with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition, and one point for second-team honors in her career. All-Tournament designation, an additional award that began in 2009, is based solely on tournament competition and was not considered for this award.