Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

UChicago Introduces 2018 Athletics Hall of Fame Class

UChicago Introduces 2018 Athletics Hall of Fame Class

CHICAGO – The University of Chicago announced the 16th induction class of its Athletics Hall of Fame on Monday. The five honorees will be formally inducted Friday evening, October 26, 2018, as part of the University's Homecoming celebration.

John Chu (class of 1974) was an integral part of a squad that amassed the best four-year record in the first 50 years of UChicago men's soccer. As a central midfielder, he controlled the flow of play and set the table for the most prolific offense in program history. From 1970-1973, the Maroons averaged 3.85 goals per game and boasted the top three goal scorers in the school record books. Chu was an active and constant presence on the pitch, starting all 52 games and accumulating more minutes than any of his teammates. He was voted team MVP in 1970, 1972 and 1973, and named co-captain in 1973.

Jennifer (Costello) Fortner (class of 1998) was a three-year starter at guard for UChicago women's basketball. Her on-court prowess led to averages of at least 11 points and 4 rebounds per game in her final three years, and her 1,111 career points ranked third at the time of her graduation. She still ranks in the program's career top 10 in points per game, field goals made and free throws made. Costello Fortner was a four-time All-University Athletic Association (UAA) selection, including Second Team in 1997 and First Team in 1998. Her Maroon teams posted a 57-44 record (.564 winning percentage) over four years. At the conclusion of her career, Costello Fortner received the 1998 Dudley Medal.

Robert Finwall (class of 1938) was one of the most outstanding performers in the early days of Maroon wrestling. Competing at 145 pounds, he reached the NCAA Semifinals in 1937 and the NCAA Final in 1938, where he lost in a narrow 4-3 decision. His runner-up finish earned him All-American honors. On the strength of his run to the championship match, the Maroons claimed 10th place as a team. In the nationally-competitive Big Ten conference, Finwall wrestled for an individual title in three-consecutive conference tournaments. He was Big Ten champion in 1936 and took runner-up honors in 1937 and 1938.

Danette (Riehle) Gioia (class of 1998) was the defensive anchor on the pitch as UChicago women's soccer rose to compete at the national level. A fiercely competitive center back, she played on teams that won the program's first University Athletic Association (UAA) championship in 1994 and another in 1996. The Maroons received their first NCAA tournament bid in 1996 and advanced to the Final Four. In 1997, Riehle Gioia earned First Team All-Region and First Team All-UAA honors while leading the team to a second-consecutive NCAA appearance. Of the team's 53 wins in her four years, 38 were shutouts. All told, UChicago won 73 percent of their matches in that time.

Rob Tamillow (class of 2006) was a dominating presence on the UChicago football defensive line. His 56 career tackles for loss are the most in school history by 13, and his 28 career sacks rank second all-time. Overall, Tamillow also totaled 161 tackles and blocked six kicks. In the single-season records, he owns the top marks in sacks (12 twice) and tackles for loss (24 and 21). Tamillow's standout senior season in 2005 resulted in All-American, All-Region and University Athletic Association (UAA) Defensive MVP honors, as well as an Aztec Bowl invitation. Tamillow was a three-time All-UAA selection and led the Maroons to the 2005 UAA title. He concluded his career by receiving the Stagg Medal.

Inductees were selected by a committee composed of University of Chicago faculty, staff, alumni and Athletics Hall of Fame members. Twenty-five individuals were chosen for the inaugural class in 2003. A maximum of five individuals can selected on an annual basis.

To be eligible for induction into the University of Chicago Athletics Hall of Fame, athletes must have attended the University, competed in an intercollegiate sport, and completed their participation in intercollegiate sports a minimum of 10 years prior to induction. Coaches or administrators must also have ceased service in that capacity at least five years prior to induction.