Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

18 Maroons Receive UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Status

18 Maroons Receive UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Status

2018-19 UAA Presidents Council Scholar-Athletes

CHICAGO – The University of Chicago was well represented with 18 honorees on the 2018-19 University Athletic Association (UAA) Presidents Council Scholar-Athlete Team, as announced on Tuesday.

The 11th-annual conference award is given to student-athletes who earn first team All-Association honors and carry a 3.50 or greater cumulative grade point average during the playing season of their sport. The list was comprised of 116 student-athletes from the eight UAA institutions.

  • Hadley Ackerman (Women's Swimming & Diving) – UAA Champion (100-yard Butterfly)
  • Jordan Baum (Men's Basketball) – First Team All-UAA
  • Claire Brockway (Women's Track & Field) – UAA Champion (Indoor 5,000 meters)
  • Nick Carola (Wrestling) – UAA Champion (197 pounds)
  • Louis DeMarco (Wrestling) – UAA Champion (133 pounds)
  • Sophie Elgamal (Women's Cross Country) – First Team All-UAA
  • Emma Griffith (Volleyball) – First Team All-UAA
  • Ninan Kumar (Men's Tennis) – First Team All-UAA (doubles)
  • Taylor Lake (Women's Basketball) – First Team All-UAA
  • Agnes Lo (Women's Swimming & Diving) – UAA Champion (one-meter dive, three-meter dive)
  • Max Lopez (Men's Soccer) – First Team All-UAA
  • Mary Martin (Women's Track & Field) – UAA Champion (indoor 4x400-meter relay)
  • Jenna McKinney (Women's Soccer) – First Team All-UAA
  • Madison Pearson (Volleyball) – First Team All-UAA
  • Mackenzie Peebles (Women's Soccer) – First Team All-UAA
  • Nicole VacaGuzman (Women's Track & Field) – UAA Champion (outdoor 800 meters)
  • Catherine Xu (Women's Tennis) – First Team All-UAA (doubles)
  • Jeremy Yuan (Men's Tennis) – First Team All-UAA (singles)