Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

UChicago introduces Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2015

UChicago introduces Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2015

CHICAGO, Ill. – The University of Chicago announced the 13th induction class of its Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, May 29. The seven honorees will be formally inducted Friday evening, October 23, 2015, as part of the University's Homecoming celebration.

  • Anton Burg (class of 1927) was one of the top high jumpers in the country as a member of the UChicago men's track and field team. He earned three All-American honors in the event and capped his collegiate career by winning the national title in 1927. He was also the national runner-up in 1926 and took sixth place in 1925. Burg was awarded the 1927 Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor for his athletic performance. After graduation, he was the U.S. Open high jump champion in 1930 and placed fourth in the 1932 Olympic trials.
  • Paul Schuster (class of 1974) was one of the most prolific scorers in Maroon men's soccer history. In the school's career records, he ranks second in goals (48), second in points (115) and sixth in assists (19). His best year came in 1972, when he scored 15 goals (third most in school history) and accounted for 35 points total (fourth most in school history). The 1972 team also set a new school record with eight wins. Schuster's teams compiled an overall record of 27-22-4, which stood as the best four-year mark through 1999.
  • Karl Lietzan (class of 1985) was a stand-out wrestler for the Maroons during the early to mid 1980s. He was a two-time All-American at his 167-pound weight class, placing fifth at the NCAA Championships in 1985 and sixth in 1984. Lietzan is one of six UChicago wrestlers to achieve multiple All-American honors. He was also a three-time Midwest Conference 167-pound champion from 1983-85, and Lietzan helped the Maroons win their lone Midwest Conference title in 1984.
  • Mario Springer (class of 1994) starred for the UChicago wrestling team while picking up a pair of All-American awards at 150 pounds. He finished fifth in his weight class at the NCAA nationals in 1993 and sixth in 1994. Springer is one of only three wrestlers in program history to qualify for the NCAA Championships all four years. While competing within the University Athletic Association (UAA), he was a three-time weight class champion (1991, 1993, 1994) and two-time UAA Most Outstanding Wrestler (1993, 1994). Springer was also honored as an Academic All-American in 1994.
  • Michelle Darbro (class of 2000) provided potent offense for the Maroon softball team during her collegiate career. Her .481 career batting average is tied for first in school history, while her 15 home runs rank third and her 65 RBI rank seventh. Darbro's best statistical season occurred in 1998 when she racked up 58 hits, 10 home runs, 34 RBI, 13 doubles and a .527 batting average. She received First Team All-Region honors twice in her career and the Maroons qualified for the NCAA postseason in 2000. From 1998-2000, UChicago posted a team record of 69-33-3 (.671 winning percentage). Darbro was also a four-year member of the volleyball team, where she totaled 468 kills, 320 digs, 157 blocks and 75 aces in her career.
  • Josh Dunn (class of 2003) compiled one of the most impressive statistical careers in UChicago football history. At quarterback, Dunn owns seven career and season passing records, including career yards (6,922), career completions (558) and career touchdowns (48). He led the Maroons to the UAA title in 2000 and a four-year team record of 22-14 (.611 winning percentage). Dunn earned UAA Offensive MVP accolades in 2000 and was a two-time First Team All-UAA selection. In his junior season, he passed for 274 yards per game and 21 touchdowns. The UAA named him to its Silver Anniversary Team in 2012.
  • Andrea Przybysz (class of 2006) spent four seasons anchoring the UChicago women's soccer defense at her goalie position. She stands atop the school's career record books with a 0.60 goals against average, 34 shutouts and 7,078 minutes played. Przybysz posted a career record of 59-11-9 (.804 winning percentage). She was named All-Region twice and First Team All-UAA once. During her time on the team, the Maroons reached four NCAA tournaments, made the Final Four in 2005 and finished national runner-up in 2003.

Inductees were selected by a committee composed of University of Chicago faculty, staff, alumni, and Athletics Hall of Fame members. Twenty-five individuals were chosen for the inaugural class in 2003. A maximum of eight individuals have been and will be selected on an annual basis.

To be eligible for induction into the University of Chicago Athletics Hall of Fame, athletes must have attended the University, competed in an intercollegiate sport, and completed their participation in intercollegiate sports a minimum of five years prior to induction. Coaches or administrators must also have ceased service in that capacity at least five years prior to induction.