Reich Leads Maroon Honorees on UAA 30th Anniversary Men's Basketball Team

Nate Hainje, Derek Reich and Aaron Horne
Nate Hainje, Derek Reich and Aaron Horne

UAA Men's Basketball 30th Anniversary Team

CHICAGO – University of Chicago Hall of Famer and the lone four-time most valuable player in University Athletic Association history Derek Reich led the way with the release of the league's 30th Anniversary Men's Basketball Team, announced Thursday.

Reich, the 2003 NCAA Division III Player of the Year and 2008 UChicago Athletics Hall of Fame inductee, was one of five former Maroons honored on the 39-member team, which consists of student-athletes were named the UAA's Player of the Year or accumulated five or more points, with two points awarded for UAA first-team recognition and one point for second-team honors.

Joining him were former UAA Players of the Year Nate Hainje (2008) and Andy Strommen (1999), plus two-time first-teamers Rusty Loyd (1997, 1998) and Aaron Horne (1996, 1998).

Reich (three-time), Loyd, Hainje, and Horne were also named NCAA Division III All-Americans during their time at UChicago/ Strommen still remains the lone NCAA Division III Statistical Champion in school history, winning the award for 3-point percentage during the 1996-97 season.

Reich also remains the all-time leading scorer (2,254) and rebounder (934) in program history.

UChicago Honorees (5)

  • Nate Hainje
  • Aaron Horne
  • Rusty Loyd
  • Derek Reich
  • Andy Strommen