Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

Sharma Leads UChicago Men's Tennis On Day 1 of WMU Invite

Luke Tsai
Luke Tsai

KALAMAZOO, Mich. – Sophomore Abhin Sharma captured two singles victories to lead the University of Chicago men's tennis team on the first day of competition at the two-day Western Michigan Invitational Saturday.

Sharma defeated Valparaiso's Franklin Brozovich in a three-set battle, falling 4-6 in the first set before capturing 6-3 and 10-7 wins in the final two. He also topped his Western Michigan opponent, beating Kris Knof in straight sets, 6-1, 6-2.

Other UChicago players who recorded a singles' victory were teammates Luke Tsai and Justin Lee and Ninan Kumar, as Tsai defeated his Valparaiso opponent and Lee and Kumar won in play against WMU.

The Maroons were swept in doubles' play against duos from Xavier, though the pairs of Kumar and Erik Kerrigan and Jeremy Yuan and Tyler Raclin fell in tight, 8-7 matches.

UChicago wraps up play in the WMU Invitational – which also features Butler and Illinois State --  Sunday in Kalamazoo.


Kissell (Valpo) def. Erik Kerrigan (UC), 6-2, 7-5
Ancona (Valpo) def. Alejandro Rodriguez (UC), 6-2, 6-1
Carvajal (Valpo) def. Justin Lee (UC), 6-0, 6-2
Kenyatte (Valpo) def. Jeremy Yuan (UC), 6-1, 6-4
Langston (Valpo) def. Ninan Kumar (UC), 6-3, 7-5
Gardner (Valpo) def. Charlie Pei (UC), 6-2, 6-2
Pecyna (Valpo) def. Peter Leung (UC), 6-7 (3), 6-1, 10-5
Luke Tsai (UC) def. Marino (Valpo), 7-6, 6-1
Abhin Sharma (UC) def. Brozovich (Valpo), 4-6, 6-3, 10-7

Steiner (WMU) def. Erik Kerrigan (UC), 6-3, 6-0
Olivarez (WMU) def. Alejandro Rodriguez (UC), 7-5, 6-2
Optiz (WMU) def. Jeremy Yuan (UC), 6-3,6-1
Justin Lee (UC) def. Schnobel (WMU), 6-3, 7-5
Haupt (WMU) def. Luke Tsai (UC) 7-5, 4-6, 10-6
Ninan Kumar (UC) def. Faveri (WMU), 7-6, 6-4
Heckman (WMU) def. Peter Leung (UC), 3-6, 7-6(2), 10-7
Abhin Sharma (UC) def. Knof, 6-1, 6-2



Araujo/Dykema (XU) def. Kumar/Kerrigan (UC), 8-7(6)
Winters/Rodriguez-Vidal (XU) def. Lee/Sharma, 8-5
LaFavre/Smith (XU) def. Yuan/Tyler Raclin (UC), 8-7(3)
Vrva/Craft (XU) def. Rodriguez/Pei (UC), 8-3
Lee/Dell (XU) def. Leung/Bethke (UC), 8-4