Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

UChicago Men’s Tennis Places Seven on All-UAA Team, Receives Coaching Staff of the Year

Ninan Kumar, Jeremy Yuan, Nicolas Chua, Erik Kerrigan and Luke Tsai
Ninan Kumar, Jeremy Yuan, Nicolas Chua, Erik Kerrigan and Luke Tsai

2018 All-UAA Team

CHICAGO – In the wake of its first conference title, the University of Chicago men's tennis team collected more hardware from the University Athletic Association (UAA) on Monday. A total of seven players earned recognition on the 2018 All-UAA Team, while the Maroons also garnered UAA Coaching Staff of the Year.

First-year Jeremy Yuan headlined the award winners, as he pulled in UAA Rookie of the Year honors and First Team All-UAA at his fourth singles position. Yuan is tied for the team lead in singles victories at 26-7.

Senior Nicolas Chua was a First Team pick at first singles for the second-straight year. He owns an 11-6 singles record. Chua has received four career All-UAA honors between singles and doubles, and was the UAA Rookie of the Year in 2015.

Senior Luke Tsai was also a First Team selection, coming at third singles. Tsai is also tied for the most singles wins on the squad with a 26-6 record. He has five career All-UAA honors (three in singles, two in doubles).

Sophomores Erik Kerrigan and Ninan Kumar combined to get First Team All-UAA accolades at first doubles. As a tandem, they are 10-4 playing at the top spot. Kerrigan was an All-UAA singles player in 2017, as well as UAA Rookie of the Year.

Junior Charlie Pei was a Second Team pick at fifth singles. A first-time All-UAA honoree, Pei owns a 17-5 singles record this season and is riding an eight-match winning streak.

Sophomore Tyler Raclin and Yuan gained Second Team All-UAA status at second doubles. The duo paces UChicago with a 23-6 mark. Raclin previously earned First Team All-UAA in doubles in 2017.

Head coach Jay Tee and assistant coach Kris Powell were voted as the UAA Coaching Staff of the Year. UChicago won the UAA title on April 28 and qualified for the NCAA postseason for the fourth-straight year. The Maroons sport an 18-4 record and are ranked No. 7 in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) national poll. Tee was also received the UAA coaching honor in 2015.