Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

Cutter, Dyer Lead UChicago Cross Country Teams to Solid Marks at Loyola Invite

Ryan Cutter and Emma Dyer
Ryan Cutter and Emma Dyer

CHICAGO – The University of Chicago cross country teams each put up solid showings at Saturday's highly competitive Loyola Lakefront Invitational at Montrose Beach.

In a race that featured the likes of Princeton, Ohio State, Illinois, Arizona, and other NCAA Division I powers, the Maroon men's squad placed 10th out of 26 teams and the women took 16th of 33 teams in their respective events.

Sophomore Ryan Cutter led the men's team with his 32nd place finish, running the 8-kilometer event in a time of 25 minutes, 1 second. First-year Henry Myers was just behind him in 38th (25:31) and sophomore Chase Gardner rounded out the Maroons' Top 3 with his 25:31 finish, good for 63rd overall.

Senior Ansel Richards (80th, 25:40) and first-year Sam Craig (86th, 25:$5) also scored for the Maroon men.

On the women's side, it was sophomore Emma Dyer to cross the finish line first for the Maroons, as she took 78th place with her 5K time of 18:33. The UChicago pack was tight Saturday, as teammates Maggie Boudreau (91st, 18:47), Sophia Elgamal (96th, 18:48), Claire Brockway (104th, 18:56) and Lucy Jeffs (108th, 19:00) all finished within 27 seconds of Dyer.

Zach Panning of Grand Valley State was the men's medalist with a time of 23:47 to lead the Lakers to the team title with 59 points. Princeton (65 points) won the women's team title and Grand Valley State's Sarah Berger was the first collegiate finisher with a time of 16:42.



  • Friday, Oct. 5: UChicago at Benedictine Invitational (Warrenville, Ill.), 4PM


Men's Top Finishers
32, Ryan Cutter, 25:01
38, Henry Myers, 25:10
63, Chase Gardner, 25:31
80, Ansel Richards, 25:40
86, Sam Craig, 25:45


Women's Top Finishers
78, Emma Dyer, 18:33
91, Maggie Boudreau, 18:47
96, Sophia Elgamal, 18:48
104, Claire Brockway, 18:56
108, Lucy Jeffs, 19:00