Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

Maroon Women's Cross Country Takes Team Title; Cutter Earns Medalist Honors to Lead UChicago Men

Ryan Cutter and Abigail Shoemaker
Ryan Cutter and Abigail Shoemaker

WARRENVILLE, Ill. – The fourth-ranked University of Chicago women's cross country team captured its second team title of the season and junior Ryan Cutter returned for the Maroon men in a big way as both squads saw success Saturday at the Wheaton Gil Dodds Invitational at St. James Farm Forest Preserve.

Paced by third-place finisher Abigail Shoemaker (22:30), the Maroon women took home the 6-kilometer team crown with 34 points to edge runner-up Washington-St. Louis (49 points) and third-place Hope (71 points). UChicago teammates Maggie Boudreau (22:37), Claire Brockway (22:41) and Leah Ulrich (22:41) were close behind with 6-7-8 finishes and Annika Hildebrandt took 10th (22:45) to give the Maroons five in the Top 10.

UChicago's Kaitlyn Van Baalen (22:45) and Emma Dyer (23:25) took 12th and 22nd, respectively, to round out the Maroons' scoring.

On the men's side, junior and 2018 All-American Ryan Cutter returned for his first race of the year in stellar fashion, taking first place in the men's 8K 193-runner field with a time of 25:18.

Teammates Chase Gardner (6th, 25:32) and Alexander Hastings (10th, 25:41) joined him in the Top 10, while Maroons Andrew Kates (17th, 25:59), Valentin Figueira (18th, 26:00), Sam Craig (21st, 26:16) and Charlie Nevins (22nd, 26:17) rounded out the scoring to lead the squad to a third-place team finish with 52 points.

Perennial national champion North Central (29 points) won the team title, while the runner-up WashU Bears finished just three points ahead of UChicago with 49.


Women's Top Finishers (1st of 11 Teams)
3, Abigail Shoemaker, 22:30
6, Maggie Boudreau, 22:37
7, Claire Brockway, 22:41
8, Leah Ulrich, 22:41
10, Annika Hildebrandt, 22:45
12, Kaitlyn Van Baalen, 22:58
22, Emma Dyer, 23:25

Men's Top Finishers (3rd of 12 Teams)
1, Ryan Cutter, 25:18
6, Chase Gardner, 25:32
10, Alexander Hastings, 25:41
17, Andrew Kates, 25:59
18, Valentin Figueira, 26:00
21, Sam Craig, 26:16
22, Charlie Nevins, 26:17



  • Friday, Oct. 4: UChicago at Augustana Invitational, 5 p.m. CT