Herrick, Simpson & Maschka Highlight Maroons on UAA 30th Anniversary Women's Hoops Squad

Taylor Simpson, Morgan Herrick, Kristin Maschka
Taylor Simpson, Morgan Herrick, Kristin Maschka

UAA Women's Basketball 30th Anniversary Team

CHICAGO – Former University Athletic Association Players of the Year Morgan Herrick, Taylor Simpson and Kristin Maschka highlight the five University of Chicago student-athletes selected to the UAA 30th Anniversary Women's Basketball Team, released Thursday.

Alumni Nofi Mojidi and Korry Schwanz join the three to round out the Maroons selected to the 47-player team, which includes student-athletes who were named Player of the Year or accumulated five or more points with two points awarded for All-Association first-team recognition and one point for second-team honors.

Herrick, Simpson and Maschka were also two-time All-Americans and Simpson earned the 2012 Josten's Trophy, awarded to the nation's top Division III player that exhibits the best trio of basketball ability, academic prowess and community service.

Maschka was a four-time All-UAA first-team selection (1988-91), while Herrick (2011-12), Simpson (2011-12), Mojidi (2006-07) and Schwanz (2005, 2007) all earned first-team honors twice in their careers.

Schwanz also remains the lone Maroon to be the NCAA Division III Statistical Champion, earning the award the nation's best free-throw percentage in 2006-07.

UChicago Honorees (5)

  • Morgan Herrick
  • Kristin Maschka
  • Nofi Mojidi
  • Korry Schwanz
  • Taylor Simpson