Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

UChicago's Sarasin Captures Regional Title; Peisker Third to Cap Upper Midwest Regional

Ben Sarasin
Ben Sarasin

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. – University of Chicago first-year Ben Sarasin became the first regional champion for the Maroon wrestling squad since 2015, as the rookie lead his team to a fifth-place finish on the final day of the 2019 Upper Midwest Regional Championships.

Sarasin finished a perfect 4-0 in the 174-pound bracket to punch his ticket to the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championships, held March 8-9 in Roanoke, Va. In a grueling semifinal match against Augsburg's Tanner Vassar, it was Sarasin who came out on top with an 11-9 decision.

That earned him UChicago's lone spot in a championship final, where the first-year defeated Wisconsin-Whitewater's Jarrit Shinhoster by medical forfeit to earn the crown.

Joining Sarasin in the national field will be junior teammate Kyle Peisker, who earned the coveted Top 3 placing with his third-place finish at 184 pounds. Peisker responded from a tight 15-11 decision loss in the semifinals by winning his next two matches, eventually edging Wheaton's Issac Odell in the third-place match with a 7-6 decision.

The national bids are the first for both wrestlers, and Sarasin's title marked the first since former Maroon Devan Richter won the 125-pound championship as first-year in 2015.  

In total, the Maroons saw seven wrestlers place in the Top 8 to help UChicago earn a fifth-place finish out of 17 teams.

Junior Steve Bonsall (157) and first-year Cole Riemer (149) each took fourth in their respective brackets, junior Kahlan Lee-Lermer (165) and senior Patrick Mulkerin (285) each placed sixth and sophomore Chaise Hauck placed seventh (141) to round out UChicago's point scorers.

Competition continues Saturday at UWEC's McPhee Center. Wrestlers must finish in the top three places in order to earn a bid into the 2019 Division III National Championships, held March 8-9 in Roanoke, Va.


2019 Division III Upper Midwest Regional Results
Hosted by UW-Eau Claire | Final Results 

Team scores: 1, Augsburg 191; 2, UW-La Crosse 151; 3, UW-Whitewater 146; 4, UW-Stevens Point 95; 5, Chicago 90; 6, UW-Oshkosh 81; 7, Concordia-Moorhead 69.5; 8, Elmhurst 57; 9, Wheaton 55; 10, UW-Platteville 51.5; 11, UW-Eau Claire 48; 12, St. Johns (MN) 40.5; 13, MSOE 18.5; 14, Pacific (OR) 7.5; 15, Concordia-Wisconsin 7; 16, Lakeland 2.5; 17, St. Olaf 0.5. 

125-David Traub (1-2)                                                                                             
Rd 1: Zach McCullough (Elmhurst) def. David Traub (UC), fall 6:59
Consolation Rd 1: Traub def. Shaymus Collins (St. Olaf), fall 1:11
Consolation Rd 2: Marco Padilla (Concordia-Wisconsin) def. David Traub, 7-4 decision

141-Chaise Hauck (3-2)                                                                                             
Rd. 1: Hazen Rice (UWW) def. Chaise Hauck (UC), 5-0 decision
Consolation Rd 1: Hauck (UC) def. Yosep Lee (Wheaton), 16-4 major decision
Consolation Rd 2: Hauck def. Jake Drexler (UW-Eau Claire), fall 3:48
Consolation Rd 3: Matt Berlin (UW-Stevens Point) def. Chaise Hauck, 8-7 decision
7th Place Match: Hauck (UC) def. Bret Wilson (Concordia-Moorhead) 11-0 major decision 

149-Cole Riemer (2-2)                                                                                              
Rd 1: (1) Cole Riemer, bye first round
Quarterfinals: Riemer def. Bernard Casella (UW-Whitewater), fall 2:01
Semifinals: Ty Johnson (Concordia-Moorhead) def. Cole Riemer, Fall 3:40 
Consolation Semis: Riemer def. Alex Heiden (UW-Stevens Point), 10-2 major decision 
3rd Place Match: Logan Schlough (UW-La Crosse) def. Riemer, 8-7 decision 

157-Steve Bonsall (3-2)                                                                                             
Rd 1: Steve Bonsall (UC) def. Adam Jaeger (Concordia-Moorhead), 4-0 decision
Quarterfinals: Bonsall (UC) def. Luke Smiley (UW-Stevens Point), 8-2 decision
Semifinals: Ryan Epps (Augsburg) def. Steve Bonsall (UC), 13-2 major decision 
Consolation Semis: Bonsall def. Jerod Noval (St. Johns), 5-4 decision 
3rd Place Match: Keon Derain (Elmhurst) def. Bonsall, 10-3 decision 

165- Kahlan Lee-Lermer (2-3)                                                                                               
Rd 1: Kahlan Lee-Lermer (UC) def. Alex Montbriand (Concordia-Wisconsin), 5-1 decision
Quarterfinals: Lee-Lermer (UC) def.  Jonavan Huggins (Wheaton), 2-0 decision
Semifinals: Lucas Jeske (Augsburg) def. Kahlan Lee-Lermer, fall 2:34 
Consolation Semis: Jackson Schoen (UW-La Crosse) def. Lee-Lermer, 5-3 decision 
5th Place Match: Travis Deegan (Concordia-Moorhead) def. Lee-Lermer, 3-1 sudden victory 

174-Ben Sarasin (4-0)                                                                                               
Rd. 1: Ben Sarasin (UC) def. Iokepa Aken (Pacific), fall 4:01
Quarterfinals: Sarasin def. Jacob Scherber (St. John's), 15-5 major decision
Semifinals: Sarasin def. Tanner Vassar (Augsburg), 11-9 decision 
1st Place Match: Sarasin def. Jarrit Shinhoster (UW-Whitewater), medical forfeit  

184-Kyle Peisker (3-1)                                                                                               
Rd. 1: (1) Kyle Peisker (UC) first round bye
Quarterfinals: Peisker (UC) def. Colten Cashmore (UW-Oshkosh), 11-1 major decision
Semifinals: Nick Stencel (UW-Whitewater) def. Peisker, 15-11 decision 
Consolation Semis: Peisker def. Reed Williams (UW-La Crosse), 2-0 decision
3rd Place Match: Peisker def. Isaac Odell (Wheaton), 7-6 decision 

197-Nick Carola (0-2)                                                                                    
Rd. 1: James Huntley (UW-Eau Claire) def. Nick Carola, 11-10 decision
Consolation Rd 1: Ian Morford (Pacific) def. Nick Carola (medical forfeit)

285-Patrick Mulkerin (2-3)                                                                                        
Rd. 1: Patrick Mulkerin (UC) first-round bye
Quarterfinals: Jordan Lemcke (UW-Oshkosh) def. Patrick Mulkerin, 5-3 decision (tiebreaker)
Consolation Rd 2: Mulkerin def. Ethan Hofacker (Augsburg), 6-2 decision
Consolation Rd 3: Mulkerin def. Nick Sundberg (UW-Whitewater), 7-4 decision 
Consolation Semis: Grant Miller (Wheaton) def. Mulkerin, 9-2 decision 
5th Place Match: Jordan Lemcke (UW-Oshkosh) def. Mulkerin, 11-10 decision 



  • Friday-Saturday, March 8-9: UChicago at NCAA Division III National Championships