Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

UChicago swimmers and divers wrap up second and third place at final day of UAA Championships

Day 4 Results

Complete Results

CHICAGO, Ill. -- The University of Chicago swimmers and divers wrapped up the UAA Swimming & Diving Championships with a second-place finish for the women and a third-place showing by the men on Saturday. Emory University netted its 15th-consecutive UAA titles for both genders, outpacing the competition by 500 points each.

The Maroons swept the diving and coaching awards at the conclusion of the meet. Head Coach Jason Weber and his staff were named Women's Coaching Staff of the Year and Co-Men's Coaching Staff of the Year. Kendra Melnychuk garnered Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year. Matthew Staab and Becky Schmidt earned Divers of the Year for men and women, respectively.

Schmidt kicked off the final session in style by breaking the conference and pool record in the one-meter dive with a score of 496.10. That mark beat her nearest competition by more than 64 points. UChicago's women finished second and third in the 1,650-yard freestyle and then took third in both the 200-yard backstroke and 400-yard freestyle relay.

The Maroons were runners-up in four men's races on the day. Matthew Veldman finished only 0.01 seconds behind the winner in the 100-yard freestyle. The last event of the day was a thriller as well, with UChicago barely edged out by Emory in the 400-yard freestyle relay by a margin of 0.13 seconds. The Maroons took second in both the 200-yard breaststroke and 200-yard butterfly.

UChicago Top Finishers (Men): Saturday
100-yard freestyle - Matthew Veldman (2nd, 45.83)
200-yard breaststroke - James Taylor (2nd, 2:04.08)
200-yard butterfly - Bryan Bunning (2nd, 1:51.06)
400-yard freestyle relay - 2nd, 3:04.45 (Eric Hallman, Thomas Meek, Andrew Salomon, Matthew Veldman)

UChicago Top Finishers (Women): Saturday
One-meter dive - Becky Schmidt (1st, 496.10)
1,650-yard freestyle - Kathleen Taylor (2nd, 17:11.97); Elizabeth Millen (3rd, 17:18.25)
200-yard backstroke - Vivian Yuen (3rd, 2:05.28)
400-yard freestyle relay - 3rd, 3:30.84 (Elizabeth Millen, Andrea McPike, Jen Law, Kathleen Taylor)

Final Team Scores
Men Women
1. Emory - 1818.5 1. Emory - 1955
2. Carnegie Mellon - 1300 2. UChicago - 1435

3. UChicago - 1230.5

3. Washington-St. Louis - 1219.5
4. Case Western Reserve - 1184.5 4. Carnegie Mellon - 1192.5
5. Washington-St. Louis - 1067 5. Rochester - 874.5
6. Rochester - 693 6. Case Western Reserve - 739.5
7. New York - 687.5 7. New York - 624
8. Brandeis - 339 8. Brandeis - 212

Swimmer of the Year (Men/Women): Zane Turpin (Washington) / Anna Dobben (Emory)
Diver of the Year (Men/Women): Matthew Staab (UChicago) / Becky Schmidt (UChicago)
Rookie of the Year (Men/Women): Andrew Wilson (Emory) / Lizzie Aronoff (Emory)
Coaching Staff of the Year (Men): UChicago and Carnegie Mellon
Coaching Staff of the Year (Woen): UChicago
Diving Coach of the Year (Men and Women): Kendra Melnychuk (UChicago)

NEXT MEET: Friday-Saturday, Feb. 22-23 - Midwest Invitational, hosted by UChicago.