Four Maroons gain entry to NCAA Singles & Doubles Championship draws

Ariana Iranpour, Nicolas Chua, Erik Kerrigan and Ninan Kumar
Ariana Iranpour, Nicolas Chua, Erik Kerrigan and Ninan Kumar

NCAA Tennis Individual Selections – Men / Women

CHICAGO – Four members of the University of Chicago tennis teams collected individual entries into the national singles and doubles draws of the 2017 NCAA Division III Tennis Championships on Wednesday.

The singles and doubles championships will take place on May 25-27, just after the conclusion of the team championships (May 22-24). The Champions Tennis Club in Chattanooga, Tenn. will serve as the host site. A total of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams were chosen to compete on both the men's and women's sides.

The Maroon men garnered three picks. Junior Nicolas Chua became a three-time qualifier in singles with an overall record of 17-7 this year, primarily at the No. 1 position. Chua is a two-time All-American in singles (2015, 2016) and a one-time All-American in doubles (2016).

Freshman Erik Kerrigan joins his teammate in the singles bracket. In his debut season, Kerrigan owns an 18-3 singles record as he moved up to the No. 2 position in the lineup near the end of the regular season.

Kerrigan and freshman Ninan Kumar were also added as a doubles team. At the No. 1 spot, the freshman duo possesses a 15-7 overall record on the season.

On the women's half, junior Ariana Iranpour gained her third-straight bid into singles play. She has a 15-8 record playing at No. 1 singles this year. Iranpour was an All-American in singles twice (2015, 2016) and doubles once (2015).