Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

UChicago Tennis Teams Down DePauw to Remain Unbeaten in Dual Play

Abhin Sharma and Marjorie Antohi
Abhin Sharma and Marjorie Antohi

CHICAGO – The University of Chicago men's and women's tennis teams remained unbeaten on the season with two wins over visiting DePauw University Friday at XS Tennis Village.

The No. 9 UChicago women (7-0) downed the No. 23 Tigers, 6-3, and the No. 9 UChicago men blanked their counterpart, 9-0, to improve to 6-0 in dual matches.

All six singles players for the Maroon men won in straight sets, as senior Luke Tsai led the way at the No. 1 slot with a perfect 6-0, 6-0 win. Erik Kerrigan, Jeremy Yuan, Abhin Sharma, Charlie Pei and Peter Leung all delivered the rest of the wins in singles play with ease, as the Maroons allowed only 13 points in total.

On the doubles side, the No. 3 team of Bobby Bethke and Nicolas Chua dominated with an 8-0 win, and the teams of Yuan and Tyler Raclin (No. 1) and Sharma and Kerrigan (No. 2) also delivered victories.

The UChicago women took five out of six singles matches, as Marjorie Antohi, Claire Handa, Catherine Xu and Alyssa Rudin each won in straight sets, and first-year Daryn Ellison pulled out a tough win at the No. 6 slot, outlasting DePauw's Megan Galle in three sets, 6-1, 4-6, 10-7.

At doubles, Antohi and Handa were the lone winners, defeating the Tigers top duo by an 8-2 score.



  • Saturday, Feb. 17: Coe at UChicago, 4 PM CT (at XS Tennis Village) 


Women: #9 UChicago 6, #23 DePauw 3
1. Marjorie Antohi (UC) def. Alyssa Seneviratne, 6-0, 6-1.
2. Claire Handa (UC) def. Meredith Breda, 6-1, 6-2.
3. Catherine Xu (UC) def. Colleen Morris, 6-2, 6-0.
4. Alyssa Rudin (UC) def. Ali Bush, 6-4, 6-1.
5. Amanda Showalter (DU) def. Laura Gutierrez, 6-7 (0-7), 6-3, 6-0.
6. Daryn Ellison (UC) def. Megan Galle, 6-1, 4-6, 10-7.

1. Antohi/Handa (UC) def. Seneviratne/Breda, 8-2.
2. Galle/Sarah Wilder (DU) def. Gutirrez/Xu, 8-2.
3. Morris/Bush (DU) def. Rudin/Ellison, 8-4.


Men: #9 UChicago 9, DePauw 0
1. Luke Tsai def. Greg Frauenheim, 6-0, 6-0.
2. Erik Kerrigan def. Bryce McClanahan, 6-3, 6-2.
3. Jeremy Yuan def. Alex Pintilie, 6-3, 6-1.
4. Abhin Sharma def. Matt Quammen, 6-0, 6-1.
5. Charlie Pei def. Michael Kolbus, 6-0, 6-2.
6. Peter Leung def. Daniel Kinas, 6-1, 6-0.

1. Yuan/Tyler Raclin def. Frauenheim/McClanahan, 8-5.
2. Sharma/Kerrigan def. Pintilie/Quammen, 8-2.
3. Bobby Bethke/Nicolas Chua def. Kolbus/Sean Carroll, 8-0