Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

Cross Country: UChicago Women Fifth, Men Sixth at Lucia Rosa Invitational

John Judge and Sophie Smith
John Judge and Sophie Smith

SOMERS, Wis. – The University of Chicago women's cross country team snagged three Top 30 finishes and the men's squad placed three in the Top 40 in a strong field at the Wisconsin-Parkside Lucian Rosa Invitational Saturday.

The Maroon women – led by Lucy Kenig-Ziesler's 13th-place finish – recorded a fifth-place finish in the 10-team event, scoring 131 points. Wheaton won the team title, followed by second-place Marquette and third-place Carroll.

On the men's side, it was junior John Judge who crossed the finish line for the sixth-place Maroons, placing 32nd with an 8K time of 27:56. Indiana Wesleyan won the men's meet with 40 points, Wheaton was second and Marquette third.

Ziesler ran a 6K time of 23:36 to take 13th and teammate Taylor Campos (17th, 23:53) joined her as UChicago's lone Top 20 finishers of the day. Annika Hildebrandt (30th, 24:31), Sophia Smith (46th, 25:30), Janet Fee (82nd, 28:16) also scored for the Maroons.

While Judge was the top finisher for the UChicago men, teammate Tim Koenning less than a step behind him in 33rd, crossing the line one second later in 27:57. Owen Melia (39th, 28:14), Kirk Lancaster (43rd, 28:22), Alex Ho (46th, 28:36), Jackson Mariotti (66th, 29:26) and Abe Herzog-Arbeitman (68th, 29:31) also scored for the Maroons in the 110-runner event.

UChicago women's top finishers (6K)
Lucy Kenig-Ziesler – 13th place, 23:36
Taylor Campos – 17th place, 23:53
Annika Hildebrandt – 30th, 24:31
Sophia Smith – 46th, 25:30
Janet Fee – 82nd, 28:16

UChicago men's top finishers (8K)
John Judge – 32nd place, 27:56
Tim Koenning – 33rd place, 27:57
Owen Melia – 39th place, 28:14
Kirk Lancaster – 43rd place, 28:22
Alex Ho – 46th place, 28:36
Jackson Mariotti – 66th place, 29:26
Abe Herzog-Arbeitman – 68th place, 29:31

Saturday, Oct. 14: UChicago at Principia Cowbell Classic, 11 a.m./12 p.m.