Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

Elgamal Leads UChicago Women to Runner-Up Finish at UAA Cross Country Championships

Sophie Elgamal
Sophie Elgamal

SOMERS, Wis. – Competing in her first cross country season for the University of Chicago, sophomore Sophie Elgamal led the Maroon women's cross country team to a runner-up finish at the 2018 University Athletic Association Championships Sunday.

Elgamal crossed the finish line in sixth place – at team-best 6-kilometer time of 22 minutes, 22 seconds – to pace the Maroons, who scored 71 points to take second in the eight-team event at Wisconsin-Parkside's Wayne E. Dannehl National Cross Country Course.

Washington-St. Louis, led by overall medalist Paige Lawler, won the team title with 24 points.

Juniors Claire Brockway (11th) and Maggie Boudreau (12th) teamed up to earn all-UAA Second team honors, as Brockway ran a time of 22:34.1 – just a hair faster than Boudreau at 22:34.8.

Sophomore Emma Dyer (22:47) fought the pack for 16th place (22:47) and teammates Lucy Jeffs (28th, 23:17), Abigail Shoemaker (29th, 23:18) and Kaitlyn Van Baalen (30th, 23:18) grouped together to round out the Top 7 scorers for the Maroons.

Elgamal, Brockway and Boudreau each earned all-league honors for the first times in their careers, and rookies Jeffs and Van Baalen both earned spots on the league's All-Rookie Team by finishing as two of the top seven freshmen in the race, which featured a total of 74 runners.



  • Saturday, Nov. 10: UChicago at NCAA Regionals (at Colfax, Wis.), 11 AM CT


Team results: 1, Washington-St. Louis 24; 2, UChicago, 71; 3, Brandeis, 73; 4, Rochester, 123; 5, Emory, 126; 6, Carnegie Mellon, 147; 7, Case Western, 156; 8, NYU, 248.

UChicago finishers:
Sophie Elgamal (6th, 22:22.6)
Claire Brockway (11th, 22:34.1)
Maggie Boudreau (12th, 22:34.8)
Emma Dyer (16th, 22:47)
Lucy Jeffs (28th, 23:17)
Abigail Shoemaker (29th, 23:18)
Kaitlyn Van Baalen (30th, 23:18)

Margaret Habib (32nd, 23:21)
Zoe Smith (42nd, 23:45)
Sophia Smith (54th, 24:03)