Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
University of Chicago Department of Athletics & Recreation

XC: UChicago Women Tie Program-Best Finish With Fourth at NCAAs; Ryan Cutter Earns Top 10 Mark to Lead Men

Photo by Jermaine Bibb
Photo by Jermaine Bibb

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – The balance the University of Chicago women's cross country team has exhibited all season long paid off in the final race of the year, as the Maroons tied their best team finish in program history in Saturday's NCAA Division III Championships.

Led by now two-time All-American and junior Sophie Elgamal (16th place, 21:49), the UChicago women's squad scored 208 points to take fourth, matching the team's best NCAA finish set back in 2013.

On the men's side, UChicago tied its 12th-place team finish from a year ago led all the way by junior and All-American Ryan Cutter, who earned his best individual mark at ninth (24:38) to crack the Top 10 and earn his second-straight All-American honor.

Senior captains Maggie Boudreau (48th, 22:19) and Claire Brockway (51st, 22:21) packed together to help the Maroons earn its Top-5 finish, as UChicago placed behind third-place Williams (168 points) and runner-up WashU (138 points). Johns Hopkins edged the Bears for the team title with 125 points.

The two placings for Boudreau (90th) and Brockway (92nd in 2018) were both career-bests.

First-year Leah Ulrich (88th), sophomores Kaitlyn Van Baalen (103rd) and Sofia Natividad (119th) and junior Zoe Smith (119th) rounded out the Top 7 for the Maroon women in their historic performance. 

While Cutter – the 2019 Midwest Region Athlete of the Year – improved on his 2018 national finish by 11 spots (20th), teammates Sam Craig (44th, 25:04) and Chase Gardner (64th, 25:12) both added career-best placings to help the Maroons match the second-best team placing in program history.

First-year Alexander Hastings (166th), senior Gavin Fujimori (173rd), first-year Cy Chittenden (183rd), and senior Andrew Kates (278th) rounded out the Top 7 for the Maroon men's squad.

Cutter's All-American honor was the 10th in men's program history and third-best placing. Tom Haxton's sixth-place honor in 2002 and Billy Whitmore's 7th-place mark in 2011 rank in the Top 2.

For the women, Elgamal's All-American award 18th honor in program history and ninth-best placing. The junior finished 26th a year ago.


2019 NCAA Division III National Championship
E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Top Finishers
Men (12th, 355 points)
9, Ryan Cutter, 24:38.8
44, Sam Craig, 25:04.7
64, Chase Gardner, 25:12.8
166, Alexander Hastings, 25:51.9
173, Gavin Fujimori, 25:54.0
183, Cy Chittenden, 25:58.0
278, Andrew Kates, 28.23.8

Women (4th, 208 points)
16, Sophie Elgamal, 21:49.2
48, Maggie Boudreau, 22:19.4
51, Claire Brockway, 22:21.0
88, Leah Ulrich, 22:48.2
103, Kaitlyn Van Baalen, 22:55.3
119, Sofia Natividad, 22:59.7
145, Zoe Smith, 23:10.1